Daft Punk – Infinity Repeating (2013 Demo) [feat. Julian Casablancas+The Voidz]

Album: Random Access Memories (10th Anniversary Edition)

Label : Columbia – Legacy
© 2023 Daft Life Limited under exclusive license to Columbia Records, a Division of Sony Music Entertainment

Two years after Daft Punk’s split in February 2021, comes a reissue of their decade-old final album Random Access Memories in a deluxe version with a nine-track disc bringing together studio outtakes, demos and unreleased tracks.

Included are “Horizon” (a ballad released only in the Japanese version at the time), two minutes of vocoder testing by Pharrell Williams for “Lose Yourself to Dance,” and two unreleased tracks: “Prime (2012 Unfinished),” which didn’t make it to original release, and the soulful “Infinity Repeating (2013 Demo)” featuring Julian Casablancas and The Voidz. (Casablancas would end up on RAM with “Instant Crush.”)

There’s also the delightful “The Writing of Fragments of Time,” an eight-minute behind-the-scenes track which puts us in the studio with Daft Punk and producer Todd Edwards as they discuss this “beach road” song, and create it all at once.

Thirty-five minutes of bonus material ends with “Touch (2021 Epilogue),” the track composed with their idol Paul Williams, and chosen as the soundtrack for the band’s farewell video in 2021. This is a deluxe version that is well worth chasing after.

© Smaël Bouaici/Qobuz